Award-worthy: brain tumor research by AG Schüller honored

Brain tumors make up the second most common childhood cancers after leukemias, and some tumor types are still associated with a very poor prognosis. For the last six years, Professor Ulrich Schüller's research group has been investigating the cellular origin, pathogenesis and therapeutic options of medulloblastomas, atypical teratoid/rhabdoid tumors (AT/RT) and ependymomas. Three prizes have now been awarded for the work of these scientists, and we offer our sincere congratulations. Here are the awards and their winners:

Best UKE publication with student first authorship.

Ms. cand. med. Denise Yang receives the prize for the best publication at UKE with student first authorship. Thematically, it deals with histological and epigenetic changes that occur in the recurrence of ependymomas.
(Ms. Denise Yang; Endowment: 500 Euro; Title of the paper: Ependymoma relapse goes along with a relatively stable epigenome, but a severely altered tumor morphology ; published in Brain Pathology 2021, https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/bpa.12875)

ECNP 2021 Poster Prize

Another prize was awarded at the European Neuropathology Congress for the best poster in the field of "tumors". This award recognizes the work of Ulrich Schüller and Michael Bockmayr, whose project makes an important contribution to a better understanding of spinal ependymomas.(Endowment: 400,- € + textbook; title of the paper: Myxopapillary ependymomas comprise two subgroups with distinct age, histomorphology, DNA methylation, gene expression, and clinical outcome)

Best publication award (FENS)

Finally, Ulrich Schüller received the second prize of the "Best publication award" of the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS). The study deals with the role of Tcf4 in brain development. (First authors of the study: Melanie Schoof and Malte Hellwig; endowment: 1500 Sterling Pounds; title of the paper: The basic helix-loop-helix transcription factor TCF4 impacts brain architecture as well as neuronal morphology and differentiation; published in European Journal of Neuroscience 2020, https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/ejn.14674)

Prof. Dr Ulrich Schüller

cand. med. Denise Yang

Dr. Michael Bockmayr

to News overview